Introducing the Pagefield Parliamentarian Awards in association with Dods

By Oliver Foster

Wednesday 10th January

They say a week is a long time in politics, but in recent times a year has often felt like a decade.

From a former Prime Minister launching a shock comeback to reshuffles and resignations, long-term decisions for a brighter future, plans to get Britain building again, a very glittery Conference speech and another politician making an appearance in the Australian jungle, in the world of Westminster the past year was nothing short of interesting.

But amidst the usual pageantry, madness and memes, the UK Parliament ultimately remains a global beacon of democracy, with many MPs and Peers – and their staff – working hard to deliver the change that will make a difference to the lives of people around this country and beyond. At Pagefield we are proud to monitor and engage with that work every day, to help raise up our clients’ voices and provide diverse perspectives to enrich policy and political debate.

To showcase some of the exemplary Parliamentary work that was on show during 2023, we are seeking nominations for our annual Parliamentarian Awards, and this year we are delighted to be collaborating with political intelligence service Dods.

Together, we want to celebrate the best of Parliament. That means the Parliamentary staffers whose research and casework oils the machinery of Westminster behind the scenes; the frontbenchers in both Houses who have mastered their brief to either drive forward the Government agenda or hold the Government to account; and the MPs who have gone above and beyond to boost their constituency. We also want to highlight the individuals who have best used Parliament to campaign on a particular issue and affect real change, as well as the political speeches or Parliamentary interventions that combined passion, strategy and oratory to land a message that cut through the boundaries of the political sphere.

We are therefore seeking nominations for:

  • Constituency MP of the Year;
  • Frontbench MP or Peer of the Year;
  • Political Speech of the Year;
  • Parliamentary Staffer of the Year; and
  • Parliamentary Campaigner of the Year.

The nomination window will be open until 8th February. The winners will be decided from a final shortlist judged by our panel of leading political journalists. I’d like to extend a huge thank you to our panellists for taking the time to lend us their expertise:

  • Financial Times Deputy Political Editor Jim Pickard
  • Deputy London Playbook Editor Dan Bloom
  • Politics Home Editor Laura Silver
  • LBC Political Editor Natasha Clark,
  • Financial Times Whitehall Editor Lucy Fisher
  • Sunday Times Political Editor Caroline Wheeler
  • Daily Mail Political Editor Jason Groves.

I also want to give my personal thanks to the Deputy Speaker, Dame Rosie Winterton, for offering to present the awards on the evening of 23rd April 2024. It’s set to be another big night in the 2024 Westminster calendar.

Related News & Insight