Winners of the second Pagefield Press Awards announced

Wednesday 29th November

Nigel Farage, Chris Giles, Mark Kleinman, Dean Kirby, Paul Morgan-Bentley and Charlotte Ivers (twice), have been announced as the winners of this year’s Pagefield Press Awards.

Caroline Wheeler, Political Editor of The Sunday Times, hosted the second edition of the awards – judged by an expert panel of journalists including the Guardian’s Anna Isaac, The Times’ Aubrey Allegretti, Sky News’ Ian King and Good Morning Britain’s Ranvir Singh. British broadcasting titan Stewart Purvis CBE reviewed the shortlisted candidates for each category.

Dean Kirby, formerly at The i Paper, and Paul Morgan-Bentley of The Times won ‘Scoop of the Year’ for their reporting efforts around the pre-payment meter scandal earlier this year. The judging panel picked them for their “genuinely ground breaking” reporting, with one judge commenting it was a “game changer”, leading to a positive impact for some of the most vulnerable in society.

Charlotte Ivers at The Sunday Times was announced the winner of both the ‘Journalist Whose Influence Grew and Grew This Year’ and the ‘Up-and-coming broadcast journalist of the year’ awards, for her work at both Times Radio and The Sunday Times. Judges noted Charlotte consistently develops surprising angles and interesting takes, with her versatility being seen as a real asset to her news desk, as well as her ability to speak to a young audience in a way few do well.

The ‘Most influential business or economic journalist of the year’ was awarded jointly to Mark Kleinman of Sky News, and Chris Giles from the Financial Times, following a tied vote. Mark was picked for his “tenacious approach” and reporting which is “regularly agenda-setting”, while Chris’ win was put down to his compelling columns which tackle the biggest issues facing the world today.

Finally, ‘Best Campaign of the Past 12 Months’, awarded based on both the judges votes and a public vote amongst Pagefield’s network, saw Nigel Farage win for his ‘de-banking’ campaign. Nigel’s campaign was seen by the judging panel as extremely effective, and a “sensationally executed campaign”, which has led to “all kinds of repercussions which continue to be felt in the City today”.

Speaking about the awards, Oliver Foster, Pagefield’s Chief Executive, said: 

“Following critical acclaim last year, we are delighted to be back with our second year of Pagefield Press Awards, recognising both established titans and up-and-coming media talent, as well as celebrating the vital role all journalists play in shaping public discourse, influencing policy, and fostering a more informed and engaged society. Congratulations to all the journalists and campaigners shortlisted, with a special congratulations to our winners, and a fond thank you to all of those who gave up their time to judge this year’s awards.”

The full list of nominees for each category can be found at the below links.

Related News & Insight